Reprieve

I'm still worrying how to preserve something of my Contorted Hazel when the tree has been removed. A study of propagation on the internet suggests that cuttings are rarely successful, layering is one option, grafting is the main method.

Given that I don't have the several months for layering, the growth is almost too mature for cuttings and I don't have a root of native Hazel to graft onto, the outlook was poor. Then Mr Flum announced that he had noticed a bit of curly twig sticking out of the ground separate from the main trunk. 

And here it is! It appears that, unbeknownst to us, hidden underneath a spread of branches. it has been busy layering itself. I have potted it up, cut it back fairly hard, taken a few more cuttings from the remaining tree  (in sharp sand, expecting to 'mist' them frequently) and am crossing everything on my body in the hope that at least one of these methods will work.

Don't hold your breath, this could take several months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.