Going...

It breaks my heart, but my contorted hazel, Coryllus avellana contorta, which has appeared on blip from time to time, is being removed, because it will be too close to building work which is due to commence shortly. It was the first thing I planted when we moved to the house in 1986, before it was fashionable.

 It might have been possible to move it to another part of the garden but disturbance of the roots would exacerbate its problem of suckering, which is quite severe already. I have been promised a replacement once the work is finished, but I know it won't be the same.

I did try taking cuttings (at the same time as the pink Buddleia) but they didn't take so I'll try once again. Meanwhile, if anyone would like to take cuttings, let me know very soon or it will be gone forever.

(Sits down and weeps...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.