The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

This Is Loony

Perhaps the best part of being "up north" is the call of the loons. Throughout the summer, they sing me to sleep and, then, they gently awaken me. Their call, if you listen closely, asks, "Where are you?"

I always remind them that I am right here, with them.

I am loony about loons. They always seem to be calm and collected. They always seem comfortable, rain or shine. If you get close to them and look into their eyes, they will stare back at you into your soul. I cannot get enough of loons and this one indulged me for a snap or two. This was my only imagery for the day and, he was so indulging, I promised him he would be my blip.

As you can tell from this image, I have left the city in time to catch a sunset blip up north. Loons, I am not done with you yet. I really want to capture a perfect image of your perfectness.

I am stunned that a simple trip to a baseball game resulted in a crown. It was a night of bliss and it included most of my favorite things. Baseball, my family, summer and my camera.....the only thing that was missing was my dogs. Thank you blip central and, thank you blip chums for your amazing friendship.



He is a bit better in LARGE. Taken from a boat with no tripod and a 500mm lens so a tough shot. The pattern on a loon's back is very unique in that the spots are naturally not uniform or well shaped as nature makes them blend into the random patterns of the reflection of the water. It drives me a bit crazy as their backs always look ill defined in an image but it works for them from nature's perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.