Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Jolly Boating Weather

The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain
But over here it doesn't care
It's really such a frightful bore
And so totally bally unfair

It was to be our big day out
We went to Henley for the boating
But when we parked the Bentley up
It was that which ended up floating

So off instead to Ascot races
I went in my frock and feathered hat
But my Chanel wellies stuck in the mud
And on my thrice lifted face I fell flat

The Queen sent us an invite
On a card with her emblem enblazoned
To join her in the palace grounds
For tea and maybe jam with scones and raisons

But when we arrived that wonderous day
We were told that the grand marquee
With the queen and all her guests
Was on the Thames, floating out to sea

Her majesty though had been very quick
And threw a champagne bottle in the air
Shouting "I name this ship 'British Weather'
And God bless the lot of us who sail in her"


Terry Rhiannyr
June, 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.