Broken camera

No,  this picture isn't my camera but was a dismantled Canon 1D in a display cabinet in the Canon service centre at Elstree.

Jane and I came down here today with my poorly camera which desperately needs a service.

The problem is the mode dial that has fallen to pieces and no longer turns.  In my innocence I assumed that a new mode dial would cost a few pounds and be easily fitted.  Unfortunately it means the whole top casing of the camera needs to be replaced and it will cost a lot more than a few pounds.

At least it will be serviced and cleaned when I get it back.   Unfortunately I also dropped my 24-70 lens a couple of weeks ago and although it seemed to be OK (apart from a broken filter)  it transpired that the filter threads were damaged and I couldn't screw a new filter on.  

So both the camera and lens are now at Canon being fixed.  From past experience they do a good job and as I am a CPS member it is expedited and usually returned in a few days.  I need it sorted before the end of next week as we are going to Keswick for a week.

In the meantime I am using my Sony which I have forgotten how to drive - hence the rubbish shot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.