CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

A LOVE FOR...*

...Dad.

Fathers' Day today, and here's one for my Dad who died nearly four years ago and is still so much missed. Among the many things he had a love for were, of course, my Mum and their daughters and all our families, his house and garden always filled with masses of bright, colourful flowers, and photography. He was rarely without his camera and would have had a love for Blip if he'd known about it.

In other news: the Olympic Torch came through today, and Kath Gordon got a much better photo than I could have. It was obviously a proud occasion for the bearers and local spectators, but it was definitely a commercial opportunity and a corporate affair. When I got there I wondered why most of the banners being waved were green and gold, until I was offered one when it became clear. The police outriders were having fun, though, and doing a good PR job high fiving spectators on the pavement. When I got back home some of Durham constabulary were parked, (diesel) engine idling outside my neighbour's house, having a snack and filling the air with particulates.


*Today's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.