Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Reflections on Father's Day

I read an article in the Herald Magazine this morning that really got me thinking about Father's Day and my own relationship with my father. It was food for thought during my Sunday morning run to the beach as I reflected on the various stages of our relationship, from my earliest recollections of Carradale to his untimely death at the age of 68.
Memories of walking to the top of Deer Hill with him when I was probably about 5, through fishing and boating trips while on holiday here in Waterfoot, to him taking me to football matches in Greenock and Hampden all came flooding back. I concluded that I was really lucky to have such a wonderful father, particularly as there are so many people who never really get to know their father.
I count myself doubly lucking in that we have 2 great sons who we are immensely proud of. Last weekend I managed to spend lots of time with son #2 playing golf, sailing fishing and running when he came down to Carradale for a visit with his girlfriend. It is times like this that I really cherish and I am sure he will look back in years to come and remember these good times and the laughs we had (especially when the mainsail on the boat broke and landed on the deck!)
Next weekend we head down to Oxfordshire to visit son #1 and his girlfriend and we will undoubtedly have a great time catching up with all the news and making plans for the future.
Father /son relationships are special and I am glad we have Father's Day to reflect on this.
Not too many reflections in this blip of Arran from the east coast of Kintyre, taken while we were out for a walk this afternoon. Never mind, its been a great Father's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.