HAPPY GIVING BIRTH DAY

Becky, Mike and me started the day with breakfast at home and then we drove for the short distance to a local cafe I thought they might like to try out.  Its called " Pedalling Squares " and it has a cycling theme.  Its a stopping off point for cyclists too.  We all had a coffee there.  Its an interesting place with a nice atmosphere. See extra shot.

Then we drove to the coast - Tynemouth.  We looked round the Antiques market which is held on Sunday mornings in Tynemouth Station.  The place was jam packed - see Extra shot.  We had a good mooch around. I didn't get anything but Becky got a couple of posters.

Then we walked down to the sea front.  Loads of people around and we suddenly realised that the Finish of the Great North Bike Ride was taking place in Tynemouth.  Mike " Googled " on his phone and found out that the bike ride had started in Seahouses up the Northumberland coast and the route from Seahouses to Tynemouth was 60 miles. It was great to see all the cyclists passing by and whizzing downhill towards the finish.

I asked Mike to take a photo of me and Becky and a young lad collecting money for the Lifeboats said he would take a shot of all 3 of us.  I have added this as an extra shot.  ( Said young lad was " drop dead gorgeous "  and I almost went weak at the knees! )

Then we walked to The Priory and along the North Pier to the lighthouse on the end.  As we were walking back I spotted a baby seagull - see my extra shot with The Priory in the background.

We went back to the car and drove the short distance to North Shields to look round " The Proper Food and Drink Festival ".  All sorts of street food on offer to eat there and then and also stalls selling cheese, meat, fish, fudge, cakes,etc for you to take home.  We all bought something to eat - Becky had a burger, Mike had a pizza and I had a bacon sandwich ( not Slimming World friendly but nothing was so I just " binned " the diet plan for today.)  Mike bought some wine and chorizo sausages to take home and some ostrich burgers for the BBQ.

Then we drove to Sainsburys for more BBQ food and then we finally headed for home.  We all had a rest before setting up the BBQ .  Everything was ready for about 7.30pm and Neil arrived home from work in time to join us.  Lots of lovely food on offer  - Mike was in charge of cooking the meat on the barbecue and Becky and me prepared the sides and extras.  We had coconut ice cream and fruit salad for pud.

Neil and Rachael had a great time in London yesterday at the rugby match and doing some sightseeing  before catching the overnight coach to Newcastle. Neil had no time to relax after his whirlwind trip as he had to go to work today so he went to bed soon after finishing his BBQ food as he was " dog tired".  Luckily he has a day off tomorrow so he can catch up on some sleep. Or more likely he will  celebrate his birthday with friends as he had no chance to do that today.


Today is Neil's birthday  - or as he likes to call it my " giving birth day".  He has always thought that birthdays should be more about the Mother than the child.  When I saw this photo for the first time it was the first glimpse I had of my new baby.  I had a planned caesarean  and when Neil was born they used forceps and it took longer than usual and by the time he was " out " he was a bit battered and cold so they took him away to the Special Care Baby Unit and put him in an incubator.to warm up.  So when I came round from the anesthetic he wasn't near me so they gave me this Polaroid photo of him.  After a while Neil was fine and he was brought back to me.  Later in the day Douglas visited and brought Becky to see her new brother.  Neil was crying at one point and I remember Becky saying " New baby make funny noise ".  She was 22 months old at the time.  Back in 1984 you weren't told the sex of your baby beforehand and I did really want a boy so I was so happy to have my wish. 

I am barely finding time to post my blips never mind make comments but hopefully I will be able to get the chance soon.  Possibly not tomorrow though as Becky and Mike have plans for the day.

Steps today - 49,485

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.