What is this "GUP"?

The longer we stick at publishing a picture each day the more difficult  it seems to become. We begin the project with an explosion of ideas. We rummage through the visual cues on offer from our lifestyles and our locations, consuming them as if there were no tomorrow ... until one day new cues start getting harder to find. In searching for fresh content and style we often start looking for some form of interpretive or artistic "voice".  

I came across issue 45 of GUP the other day and blipped a picture of Norma reading it over morning coffee.  I must admit, I had never noticed the publication before. I saw it as something which might just help me find MY voice.

GUP magazine is published four times a year from the Netherlands. It is available in the UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and most parts of Europe. One can subscribe or pick up copies from larger newsagents. Issue 45 ran to 160 pages on seductive matt art (satin) stock with immaculate photo reproduction, stylish layouts and thoughtful text.

"GUP Magazine has been around since 2005. We're a photographic quarterly, spreading our love and inspiration for photography in general and art-photography in specific."

There were short articles on recently released arts photography books and journals, descriptions of contemporary and upcoming exhibitions, interviews with and articles on the works of notable arts photographers ... and LOTS of pictures. There was an overarching atmosphere of relaxation and contemplation - a kind of eccentric sanity. It seemed acceptable for a photographer to be different, outrageous or even a little silly.

There wasn't much advertising. There were no camera reviews or how-to articles.  No one seemed anxious to SELL me anything .... except that maybe Olympus WAS selling a new international photography competition they are running in conjunction with GUP.

For the most part content seemed "on the edge". Free ranging creativity occasionally lurched into self indulgent navel gazing. Has to be allowed, don't you think? Of course here and there the message became a trifle opaque to say the least.

"... far more devastating collapse of objectivity as a concept for truth. His fuel thus arrives not only from the subjective, socially ignited interpretation ... "

Uh huh. Riiiight??? Then again the narrative was often refreshingly clear.

"... Once upon a time it was a radical thing to photograph an old barn. But then it became a cliche and everyone does it and then it's no longer interesting."

The GUP website is HERE although on the last occasion I visited, some of it seemed to be either down or under maintenance. Take a look for yourself. I don't know if GUP could ever be a definitive guide to me eventually finding my voice, but it made me feel that striving for such a goal was very much "okay".

I have attached as extras some more pages for you to look at, as I browsed my way through GUP over morning coffee. Let me declare that I have no commercial or personal connection with GUP's publishers, whatsoever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.