Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Cows, cow parsley and castle walls

I couldn't resist snapping up this lovely, bright and summery view while cycling back to my office at lunchtime today. Cows lying down to chew the cud (surely a symptom of fine weather and not just an old folk myth!), the white umbrellas of the appropriately named cow parsley in the foreground, and the magnificent Stirling Castle walls towering over the scene. I'm sure people have looked over those battlements at scenes like this for centuries. In fact, the field where these cows are lying is the old jousting ground for the castle. I'm sure that the jousting field would have been grazed in mediaeval times to keep the grass short but I expect that the cows would have been cleared before a jousting tournament!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.