THE PUMPKIN FLOWER

The weather being agreable, I sat in the morning at the balcony and read this amazing book of a series I have known for a long time. It is called: De qiou vivait...., meaning of course On what income did he (or she) lived on.
I have only two volumes of this series, one on Verlaine and one on Voltaire.
I read the one on Verlaine, and learned about this poet who was cherished by his father and mother as a child, lived most of the time as a beggar and bohemien. It took a long time before his poems were read and admired. Let alone that he was paid for them.
In the afternoon it was high time for a walk, but Piet Hein and I did not go far. Just a walk to town and around. In the garden where I often go to, I saw this flower and wanted it to be my blip for Flower Friday, hosted in such an enthusiast way by BikerBear.

My haiku:

Unfold your leaves now
Summer has almost left us
Do not hesitate

And the proverb:

All goes down in Gutter Lane.

1628  Richard Rawlidge, A Monster hate Found Out.

The proverb is applicable tothose who spend all in drunkenness and gluttony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.