Big Gun

I had morning tea with isbi this morning. She was showing me her new M.Zuiko 40-150 PRO lens. Theoretically the Olympus OMD series of cameras are "CSC"s. In other words they are "Compact System Cameras". This beautiful lens is part of the push by Olympus, Panasonic Lumix, Fujifilm, Sony (and others) to create viable professional alternatives to the traditional DSLR kit from Canon and Nikon. Thing is the products themselves (despite being smaller and lighter than their traditional counterparts) AIN'T all that compact any more.

Make no mistake. I knew this glass has been one of the big award winners over the past six months or more but I was unprepared for how beautiful it really is. Superbly constructed, this thing focuses like lightning in poor light, its moving parts operate with the silky smoothness I can not remember feeling since I first launched myself into good film gear back in the mid sixties .... and the sheer quality of the materials from which it is constructed has to be held and felt to be appreciated.

If this lens ever gets stolen I shall probably be arrested soon after as the prime suspect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.