Champion

This is tree lungwort.  

Some weeks ago I had an email from the charity Plant Life asking me if I would like to become the "species champion" of tree lungwort.  I am already the "species champion" of the corncrake, a role that involves nothing formal, but gives the opportunity to speak up for conservation and the environment within my constituency.

The corncrake is probably more numerous in Argyll than in most other places in Scotland and that is true of  tree lungwort too.

I had some idea of what it looked like but this morning  I was speaking at an Outdoor Woodlands Learning Conference for Argyll teachers in Inveraray and just before I left I was handed this little plastic box by a very nice lady from Plant Life and told that this was what I was championing.

I felt it was only right to start the job by blipping it - so here it is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.