Let There Be Light

By solli

My Adventure

My morning started off very well until I tried to get onto the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia. Somehow I ended up on a very narrow, deeply rutted gravel and red dirt logging road at an elevation of 2900 feet that took me nine miles into the mountainous forest. Shortly in, I began to fear I'd never find my way out. The Garmin navigation system was no help at all and recalculated endlessly. I thought the road must lead to somewhere but it abruptly ended in a wildflower field! After a moment of stunned disbelief, I turned around to go back the way I came in and eventually found a paved road which lead me to a highway connection and civilization!

These are the Blue Ridge Mountains of Tennessee, taken from the relative safety of I-26.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.