Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Juggler

Another day where I didn't select the best technical photo, preferring to go with one that makes me smile.  This shot will also be a reminder to me that I can't stop trying to improve - this shot should/could have been crisper - I was just being sloppy in the way I held the camera.  Still, I caught the moment, even if it isn't quite as good as I'd like.  Another juvenile Cedar Waxwing, if you're wondering.

I heard them before I actually figured out where they were - they have a very high, thin tzeeee call.  It is distinctive and easy to recognize - the challenge is spotting the birds!  I finally saw them (20 or so) up high in a maple tree next to our deck - darting out to glean insects in the air, which always fascinates me.  Eventually several dropped down to the big pokeweed patch that is under the tree.  My reward for crouching down in the flower patch, about 20 feet away for a good 30 minutes, waiting...  I took a couple hundred shots in the space of less than 15 minutes before they flew off.  As usual a couple handfuls of keepers the rest into the virtual bin.  

Three more waxwings and a lazy honeybee, starting HERE on Flickr

Did some clean up outside in the garden - mostly cleaning out pots and getting rid of some annuals that are finished blooming.  Also deadheaded the buddleia to keep it blooming.  Had a couple of big monarchs drifting along, gathering nectar in the garden.  

Speaking of monarchs, the second chrysalis fell today, after having been translucent (a sign of imminent emerging)for nearly 3 days.  I gently gathered it onto a paper towel only to realize that the butterfly inside was making a very weak effort to emerge.  As I suspected, this butterfly isn't healthy - adding further fuel to my belief that some of the eggs were carrying the OE spores that effect monarchs.  The butterfly wasn't able to emerge so I finally did the humane thing.  Ugh.  I will definitely make an attempt to sterilize any eggs I find next summer before raising them.  It's easy enough to do by taking the entire leaf that the egg is on and dipping it quickly in a 5% clorox solution, then rinsing and letting it hatch into a caterpillar.  This will supposedly kill all but the very worst OE infestation.  Lessons learned.

Many challenges continuing in our family - thankful that I have photography, a solid marriage, and some wonderful friends to keep me sane!  I keep reminding myself ... this, too, shall pass.

Cheerio, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.