Hot Bed Press - Screen Printing

A Hot Bed Press day which didn't get off to such a good start in that the train from Huddersfield was late and I ended up standing from Huddersfield to Manchester - in fact all the trains seemed to be running late yesterday including my train home.  We missed the Preston train by seconds, so ended up walking from Piccadilly.

I've found screen printing very frustrating - Sean spent one whole morning talking and demonstrating three weeks ago, (I wonder if this was actually made worse by the fact that screen printing is his main medium - too many things to tell us.)  The following week he repeated some of it again when we were learning how to apply the photo emulsion.  I made a real mess of mine and then managed to split the screen!!  By this time I'd begun to think that screen printing was not for me.  Fortunately I was rescued by the kindness of Martin,  Hot Bed Press technician.  If I hadn't managed some prints yesterday I think I might have been finished for good!  At the moment I'm feeling this version is rather heavily dark and I'd hope t work on it and come up with something a little more subtle.  I think I can do it now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.