Beyond

I spent a few hours yesterday doing a photo shoot with Beyond (his mother's dream is in his name) Martin. He's a gifted performer of spoken word, a fine guitarist and singer, a wise and good man whose poetry moves me with its passionate yearning. We made over 250 pictures, but this one, sneaked while he was taking a smoke break, is my favorite. He wants a good shot for a website or an album cover, as he hopes to make a recording of music interspersed with spoken word. This one is not an album cover shot, but I feel it catches him without any of the many roles he plays in public. If you have time, have a look at the extras and tell us which, if any, might make you stop and listen to what he has to offer. I can't find any of his work online, but trust me: he has a unique and very powerful voice, and he's a terrific performer of his work. I hope thousands of people will come to appreciate him.

One of our points of bonding is that we both love the documentary, Searching for Sugarman, and the work of the man known as Rodriguez. One of the extras is a tribute to Sugarman. Maybe some of you recognize it.

I almost forgot! You've seen him before on my journal. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.