Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Poetry too hot to hold

A group called Poetic Justice held a powerful poetry slam tonight. The work is erotic, passionate, tender, rhythmic, driving. Poets intersperse poetry with song. They write about their children, their lost loves, their frustrations, their desires, their conquests. This artist is known as Beats and Beyond. 

I was invited to take pictures of the event, but photographic conditions were difficult. There was hardly any light, and no light on the performers. I cranked up the ISO and exposure compensation, used my knee for stabilization, and did the best I could. Maybe next month they'll get a reading lamp to improve the photographic conditions. But the poetry: that needs no improvement. Extras, many of which were shot from the stairway up to the restroom, are here

It has been a difficult week. My daughter who lives in Houston was assaulted on Thursday and had to be hospitalized. She has a broken nose and a swollen face, but she didn't need surgery. She's at home now, recovering, and she wants to handle this her way. She doesn't want me to go there, and she doesn't want to come here, so I'm respecting her need to control what she can, and I understand that; but can't help worrying about her and wish she would come here for a break. The attack came from a jealous woman and three of her friends. There is a man involved. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.