The Scottish Pie and Play

A most productive morning humping cradles and trailers around the yard in lovely sunshine. And then off up to Tynecastle to see the return of one of our favoured sons, Gary "Lockey" Locke with his pisspoor Kilmarnock team. Aye, don't tell me their pies are much cop either. I'm not one to go on about referees, and anyway you need to be able to pop the ball into the pokey bag, and the fact you can't do that isn't down to the match official. Mind you, on occasion, it may well be. Is that clear and unambiguous enough? Bloody awful he was. Gagh. That Scotland try while we were in the Diggers after was quite thrilling though.
Anyway, after that debacle, I was picked up and chauffeured to the Cameo, there to watch Macbeth, and bloody good it is too. And bloody. Though the narrative around the murder threw me a bit, Shakespearean scholar that I am. The rather lovely big landscapes should get a mention. And the Director composed all the music? Talented dude.
And then to the ever excellent Indaba where the South African restauranteur let slip the final Scotland result. He gave me a free sorbet to ease the disappointment at finding out in such a manner.
So farewell then, Denis Healey. I remember seeing him at Holyrood in 2008 and he was quite excellent - what a huge breadth of knowledge and experience he had. One thing that stuck in my mind was that he'd been Secretary of State for defence in the 60s where he had direct power over close to a million people - he went on to become Chancellor and realised all he had was an office and a few aides. I think he was reflecting on the limits of power. I may come back to this....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.