Last Day of Summer!

Yesterday was everything I could have hoped for and more! Wall to wall sunshine and so warm it was positively hot and felt like mid summer! Gilesey joined me for the blipmeet with Roly and her daughter - both were the best company and simply the coolest mum and daughter! We met up at the hotel and had a coffee before Gilesey sat outside with Nibbler - who for some reason seemed completely disinterested in the vintage wares! We however loved it and the vintage clothes room was like paradise! A little later Roly was taken with a stuffed boar and me with a headless child! However I resisted and bought a blue chicken instead! 
We then met up with Gilesey and walked down to the beach and a cafe for lunch - great conversation ranging from the ethics of shopping at Primark and the existence of the Royal Family! 
Next a long walk on the beach before returning for coffee and cake at the hotel and a bit more shopping! Over cake we discussed relationships, marriage, how to describe yourself in 3 words and  the fact that Roly and her daughter would be witnessing full frontal nudity at the Full Monty - this came as news to the daughter and she briefly lost her composure! 
After they left Gilesy and I went back to the beach and had chips before photographing the sunset - Oh My! Classic lovers by the side of the lapping waves, a surfer, seagulls, a lone woman gazing along the golden path of the sun across the water! I have deliberated all day and changed my upload several times! But given that this is a backblip and today has been the complete opposite weatherwise, I have forsaken the sunset for the beach umbrella and a blip snap with Roly!
For once with Gileseys guidance I took the right route home, but unfortunately killed a pheasant in the process! We had noticed dead ones along one stretch of road on the way in, and had wondered how so many could be killed by careless drivers. I did mention they seem to have instincts like lemmings and seemed to wait by the side of the road to run in front of cars as soon as they approached - maybe they want to be chickens? Anyway, busy chatting, not expecting birds to be out after dark, the next thing I know one is flying right up in front of the car and just hit the top of the windscreen. I couldn't have avoided it but felt so bad and sad. I guess it was symbolic of the death of summer given the cold, dismal weather the next day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.