Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Migrant...

It was one of those days where I was feeling uninspired...no interesting birds at the feeder and a walk along the lake produced...nothing other than a couple of blurry dragon shots.  So, I put peanuts out and figured I'd try to press a blue jay into service as a blip...when I noticed the distinctive flit of a warbler in the little pine trees next to our deck!  You know I can never resist a warbler.  And the bonus for me is that I'm 99% sure this is a Blackpoll Warbler, only the second I've ever seen and the first for our yard!  Very cool!  

Blackpoll warblers breed in Canada and winter in S. America, so the only time we see them here is during migration.  This particular bird is either a female or a juvenile.  My vote would be juvenile, based on the fact that it didn't seem particularly concerned by my presence.  Anyway, I enjoyed watching it for the better part of an hour as it busily picked insects off the trees, gobbling them up faster than you could say "fall warbler".  

Also had some waxwings in the pokeweed as well as catbirds.  The catbirds are one of the last summer birds to migrate so they'll probably still be here for several more weeks.

Got my annual physical today - always nice to get that out of the way.  Will get results of blood work early next week, but expect all to be fine.  Getting ready to enter the next decade so important to keep the engine in good working order!

Cheers.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.