Pollocks

Look at these fine fellows; my friends for thirty years. And, in an act 'all for oneness', this morning, we sprang out of our respective beds just before eight o'clock when Ash (second left) WhatsApp'd to say his train options looked a bit rubbish and could we meet for an early breakfast. 

But while we might have been showered, dressed and ready by quarter past, Stratford was not so well prepared. The photo above was taken during a brief optimistic phase as we proceeded around the streets looking for somewhere to find breakfast. Oh Stratford, all you had to offer us was MacDonalds (and I couldn't bring myself to have that).

Once we had made our goodbyes, we scattered ourselves back around the country, which meant heading back up the M6 for me, where I eventually stopped and got a decent coffee for breakfast. But even with that pitstop, I was still back with the Minx by one o'clock and we decided to make good use of the afternoon by heading across to Liverpool with the miniMinx. 

First stop was the Albert Dock, to visit Tate Liverpool. However, just before we reached the gallery, we came across the site of the recently sunken tall ship 'Zebu'. Our timing was good as we were able to watch the divers getting kitted out and jumping in to investigate the wreck, although once they were in, there wasn't much to see in the murky water, so we headed inside.

I think Tate Liverpool owns a Pollock as there's one we've seen here a couple of times before but at the moment they have dozens. The exhibition appears to be laid out roughly chronologically, which appeals to me; I like to know the story, not just look at the paintings. 

The amazing thing about Pollock is that he's so abstract that it's very hard to get into so many pictures, to keep a sense of perspective. and artistic value. Often I resorted to reading the descriptive prose next to the paintings but, actually, these were at such an extreme of 'up its own backside' writing about art that it put me off the painting. I just didn't want to buy into such an irritating narrative.

But then, suddenly, in one room were a collection of pieces that Pollock made after a friend gave him a load of Japanese paper. I'm not sure I could begin to tell you how these differed qualitatively from all the other pieces I'd just seen but I enjoyed them very much, with the coiled energy of their tactile, layered whorls and whirls. And, in fact, after that I was done.

... and ready for something to eat and drink. Bob (on the right in the photo above) owns a number of bars and restaurants in Liverpool and he's just opened one on Lark Lane called Love & Rockets. So, one quick drive in the Minxmobile later and there we were. There's a special quality about Lark Lane that doesn't appear to have diminished over the years, quite the reverse, in fact, and I think we might have had a wander up and down if I hadn't been quite so hungry.

As with all Bob's places, the food is unashamedly stuff you love to eat, although this new venue takes it a step further with pizzas unconventionally served with toppings such as nachos and, perhaps most surprisingly, Monster Munch. My favourite dish though was the jalapeño pretzel starter. Absolutely inspired as well as delicious. It was a splendid way to finish the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.