Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Ready to Fly

For once there was a little light on the nest this evening so I went down under the tree to see if I could get a good glimpse of the Kestrel chicks on their nest. As you can see, they were in and out of the nest! One of the chicks is missing. It may be somewhere on the ground but I couldn't see it. I hope it hasn't been harmed.

The chicks exit is a dangerous one. The nest is no more than 20 feet from, and facing the A25 where the traffic can be heavy and fast. By the way they are moving around, I expect they will fledge in the next couple of days. I'll keep my eyes open.

I spent the afternoon taking photographs at a charity clay shoot held by the Young Farmers Club. I've got some decent images for them and was going to share one here. It may be my last chance to share the birdies so, they had to take the limelight. I'll share a link when I get them online.
Thankfully, it has stayed dry and the sun even put it's hat on for a while!

If I the chicks are still there tomorrow I'll take the extender off the lens... It seemed like a good idea but seems to have drastically reduced quality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.