leasko

By leasko

Maite

This is Maite Alberdi, the incredibly talented young director of my favourite documentary in this year's festival, The Lifeguard (El Salvavida). (We programmers aren't supposed to have favourites, but I really love this film.) I met her today to do an introduction and Q&A for her film, which was extremely well received. The Q&A ended with a hug, as did another I did later today, for roller derby doc Leave it on the Track. And I got another from one of the men featured in the extraordinary One Mile Away, which tells the story of two members of rival Birmingham gangs who decide to try to broker a peace deal. The guys from the film recorded a great hip-hop soundtrack, and performed some of it in the delegate centre tonight. It's turning into a big love-in, this festival. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.