Postcard of Pink from Mona Vale

..for Pink October, to support Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

When I went out for my xray this morning it was really cold but as the day went on it became much warmer. I asked the girl if anything showed up on the xray and she said not that she can see but the doctors well have a good look. She told if I did have a stress fracture it wouldn't show up on a xray.

After the xray I went looking for a dress for Cup day. The first shop I went into I saw something I liked and it fitted me really well. I did try on a couple of others but they didn't fit so well. I haven't worn a dress for many years and bit self conscious in it as I not used to fitted cloths. It has a pattern in autumn colours .. a little like a dress my mother worn in the 50's. It should match my glasses. When my youngest son saw me for the first time in the weekend with my new hairstyle and glasses.. he just looked and didn't say much except "going back to the 50s are you?" The colour should suit me if nothing else!

After the shops I stopped of at Mona Vale to have a look around the gardens as it was on my way home. It got rather warm walking around the gardens and they looked so wonderful with all the Spring flowers and lime green Spring growth of the trees.

The earthquake repairs on the Mona Vale Homestead are well underway which is great to see. The cost of the restoration and strengthening programme is going to be $2.8 million.

Karewa the name for the homestead and it was built for accountant and company director Frederick Waymouth in 1899 and 1900. In 1905 it was sold and renamed Mona Vale. The property is Category 1 and listed with the New Zealand Historic Places Trust. Mona Vale was almost demolished when it was sold in the 1960s. A high-profile campaign to save it found it passed into public ownership in 1969 and saved from destruction. It is now considered a city landmark of great significance.

The city is so lucky to have such a beautiful building and gardens free for the public to visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.