pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Hanworth (again!)

Feeling a bit blipped out, and struggling to think of anything newsworthy I'm afraid.

I tried hard (and failed) to get up early as I knew I had to walk the pesky canines. They got a short walk, the best bit being watching an owl scour the edge of the field for breakfast, as the sun rose.

Back home I was then late, and Henry was all ready to leave (with his bus pass I will add) After the usual faffing I left for work once Henry was on the bus, where I had 2 fallow deer cross the road in front of me & a further group of 3 almost frolic along side me in a field of something like beet or spinach. It lifted me. I thought how much I love being in the country. I like towns too, but country for living in, towns for working & shopping. And just a small gap in between!

I didn't get in until 8.45 when I realised I'd forgotten my enter card for work. Dur. Henry is his mothers son! So I had to go in the front entrance, which meant no working lift and a walk to the 5th floor. :-(

After a day at work, I drove home via Hanworth. This photo taken from the opposite end of the road to yesterday's. This has to be one of the most natural villages. I don't believe much has changed for a century or 2. I can see in my imagination, hords of villagers, ladies in long dresses, men in hats and suits, girls in white smocks, crossing the fields to this church on a Sunday. I'd guess now there are fewer than a handful of worshippers.

Home late because the road was blocked with lorries collecting the beet. So I had to detour! I've been doing some paperwork, but little else. Jon is back home for his 2 non working days. So the house will be nice a tidy tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.