BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Water Sprinklers near Cortez, CO

I managed to ourtrun the rain (see yesterday) and approached Cortez - staying in another Best Western hotel and, after Pagosa Springs, am a little apprehensive - should not have worried - it's world's apart!! Arrive about 2.30pm, check in, freshen up and decide that, before I head to the hospital, I should have a little sightseeing tour ...... the reasoning behind that is I'm wondering if I will be admitted to the hospital and want to at least see something of the town and surrounds.

After taking a quick tour of the town itself I rode out into the countryside (just for a change, a ride, as if I haven't already covered around 550 miles over three days in the saddle!!) - stopped to take a photo of some mustangs (horsey kind) in a field, turned around and saw these sprinklers a little way up the road - the sun was just right for shining on the water!

Back to the hotel, asked about the hospital, great concern was shown and rides offered to take me there (nice peoples) ..... offers declined with profuse thanks.
Off I go on the bike, arrive at the hospital, walk in and am struck by the fact that this is like some very swanky private facility - no A&E with various injured people hobbling around - there is a Kind of Hush (sorry couldn't resist a quick non-related link) about the place.

Walk to reception, explain and am immediately asked for my credit card - okay no worries, am expecting this BUT $250 to just register??? Oh well, glad I have travel insurance!!

Sent to wait in a very quiet and beautifully decorated area with a couple of other people ...... some ten minutes later I hear "Spider Lady, is the Spider lady here?" and see the face of a very smiley guy in scrubs ...... off I go, another shock, taken into a private room (in UK we get a curtained (if lucky) teensy-weensy cubicle), questions asked and then told the doctor would come and would I mind getting changed.
Hop off the table and start to disrobe - a shocked look, "that's okay, you don't have to rush, let me leave you to change and I'll be back" - suspect I was a little hasty and he expected me to let him get out of the room first! Oooops!

Cutting a very long story short - doc comes, looks at my thigh, shakes his head and tuts a lot and asks if I mind if he draws on me .... feel free, I don't really care anymore ....... a circle is drawn around the inflamed area (it's now reached about 11" in diameter - and he will leave me to rest and come back in 30/45 minutes.

I fall alseep ..... a knock on the door wakes me up (a knock?? Here in UK they just blunder in!) - seems the inflammation has spread another inch in that short time and it's a good job I didn't leave it any longer!
A major telling off ensues!! I look suitably sorry!

My punishment is two nasty, painful injections, some potent antiseptic that stings like holy hell and a prescription for 7 days antibiotics and instructions not to drive while I am taking them!
WHAT?
I have another 750 miles and 4 days, places to go and sights to see!! (I don't say all this of course - it's just words in my head!). I smile sweetly, thank him for everything and go off back to reception to have another $500 stuck on my credit card!!!!!!! Hop on the bike, visit the pharmacy, get the tablets and go back to the hotel - take two pills and stand well back! No need to stand well back as it happens, within 15 minutes I was out like a light!!!!!!

Wake up in the early hours of the morning thinking that maybe I shouldn't take the tablets and ride .......... ok, decision made, ride the day and THEN take the tablets - will curtail my drinking and eating time in the evening but will allow me to finish my planned trip!

Monument Valley tomorrow ........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.