Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another day, another hospital visit...

A different hospital, and a different (under control) ailment, today. I am so glad that I live equidistant from the two main city hospitals, and the local bus goes to each one!

I was having a full MOT of my lungs, and passed. Maybe not with flying colours, but a pass is a pass. I was there for an hour, puffing and blowing into a machine (getting a teensy bit light headed) then on the treadmill, where I was happy to report that I was able to rate the exercise as 'very light', even though it got quite fast for a minute or so. In fact, I could keep chatting to the nurse throughout. The rating scale went right up to 'extreme' but I don't think they ever let it get that far.

Rufus and his mum offered to look after Archie for the morning, which was very kind of them. They went for a long walk and Archie saw his first squirrel, but just looked at it with a puzzled expression till it ran up the tree. Good. I don't want him to be a squizzer chaser. Then they all just hung out in the kitchen, the dogs entranced by the delicious smells, while C cooked Rufus's evening meal. Yes! Don't get any ideas, Archie, it's kibble for you!

C sent me this photo, which I loved, so it has to be it for today! Look at that wee face (Rufus). Archie looks like a great big dog! They look best of pals here, but actually, they generally ignore each other.

Rufus and C coming for G&Ts and a de-brief of the holiday this afternoon.

PS Talpa's comment yesterday re my first car costing £45 is worth repeating here:

'We really know we're in our prime getting old when a tank of petrol costs as much as our first car!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.