Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Colder temps mean that the availability of readily blippable insects is ... practically nil.  Meaning that when I spotted a nearly comatose brown paper wasp sitting on the window, I sprang into action!  I grabbed a leaf and scooped up the wasp ... keeping my fingers away from the bitey parts.  I relocated her to a pot of mums in a sunny patch of the garden, where I took a few shots then left her in peace to warm up.  I liked the colors of this, as well as the hint of water droplets on her wings.

Warmer temps today so I headed out for a walk and ran into a naturalist friend.  We chatted for a bit while scanning the skies for passing raptors.  Nice to be out enjoying the sunshine.  Back at home the birds and chippies are gobbling sunflower seeds as fast as I can put them out. Lots of traffic at the bird bath too, both for drinking and bathing.  I just watched a titmouse splash water all over the deck while enjoying an enthusiastic bath.  Makes me smile...

A couple of other shots on Flickr...
Maple tree 
Paper wasp, head first

Happy Thursday, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.