The End of the Road

I have to admit to being delightfully taken aback at the response to yesterday's Sun Dog. I was also surprised that to quite a few of you this was a new phenomenon. Look out when the sun is fairly low in the sky and those wispy high cirrus clouds are around. They are a lovely sight indeed. I seem to be on a bit of a roll at the moment, so heartfelt thanks for all the favourites over the last few days. You are the most amazingly lovely people. They've come at a time, as so often seems to happen, when I'm working like a dog! Those notifications have so cheered me up on a difficult day.

With the focus on the cycle training I've not been out on the moor much recently. I woke up early to a very misty morning and decided to swap the bike for a run. I had a good feeling that I was going to be able to get above the cloud, and I was right, although the moment didn't last long. As the sun started to work on the cold air the mist soon rose up and enveloped me almost as soon as I emerged out it. But it was utterly magical to be running on top of the world for those few minutes. There is no better feeling than to be up above the cloud like that, quite alone, enjoying the sun while the rest of the town wakes up to greyness! And these long days are great. I was able to enjoy a beautiful solitary run, have a bath, take a leisurely breakfast and still be into the office before 8am!

I noticed last night that it was a year ago this week that I posted the shot that really got me gripped by the concept of blipping. There may well be a lot of new subscribers who have not seen this photograph, Jewels in the Gutter, captured on a wet morning by pointing my camera into the gutter outside my bedroom! I was so excited to post this and I loved the feedback, which made me positively glow with pride. The following working week I took, without any plan, five blips from pretty much the same spot every day. I loved the idea that there was so much to see in the one place with these amazing new blip eyes of mine. It was a rather special week for my photography. This one is not turning out too bad either so far!

OK. Still at the office. Need to get back to work. Delivering software to the client tomorrow for sign-off. If I can get it all sorted then I might be able to relax a little. Now there's an incentive! I really hope it is the end of this particular road!!

Time and again I seem to find myself getting good blips when I'm most stressed at work. I wonder what that is about?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.