Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

We Now Have One Adult and One Juvenile

As I pulled into Bethany Lake I noticed one of the eagles on a power pole and was pretty sure it was an adult.  As I neared it, I confirmed it was an adult, but I could also see another eagle from afar up in the "sentry tree"....again I thought, oh boy, the other adult....we now have the pair back! 

But once again as I  neared the sentry tree (brisk walk) I could see that it was a juvenile, possibly "Junior", and it was conversing with the adult eagle.  Then off flew the adult eagle, heading toward the sentry tree....the juvenile eagle flew off it's perch and waited for the adult to land, and then joined the adult on the "sentry tree", loudly calling back and forth. 

They stayed on the tree for a bit, and then started knocking each other off, flying around in circles, landing, knocking each other off the perch again, talons extended....they seemed like it was a game of sorts and were having fun.  Then did this a few more times and then flew north.

So to date all we have is one adult and one juvenile.  Time will tell.

More photos on flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.