Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Finally...

Best large

I woke up terribly late, yesterday having taken its toll with the C scare. They handled things very well, the nurses, Drs and technicians empowered to bring you the best and worst news in life.

This morning we listened to the tennis whilst re-filling the paddling pool. Within minutes it had warmed to body temperature in the midday sun. Delicious. Callum was firm to tell me that no mummies were allowed in the pool and that I must stand on the grass beside the pool on account of the photo which had appeared on the box of the mum doing the same. I was quick to put him right (I wanted a dip) to tell him that grown ups had to be there to watch the children that's all.

Callum began snuggling into me outside, all beautiful warm, soft and naked, looking as I was at the new freckles that had appeared on his soft pink skin. I knew the time for his nap was coming round, yet he so rarely sleeps during the day outside of the car. It's always been that way since his days have mostly been spent following Reuben to therapies, rather than time at home. Delighted that today it worked.

Reuben's at his eye appointment and we're hoping the daily patching has made a difference. Good news came through after 6 weeks of me chasing Medical that Reuben has been granted additional nursing hours. Since I'm now working as a photographer full time, it's a must.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.