pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Foggy Routine

Glad in many ways to get back to normal - well, my normal - today. A week off, a fortnight or even a month feels like it is never enough. But believe me, when you lose a job through no fault of your own, the future looks foggier than today's weather & you long for nothing more than the certainty of knowing exactly what you are going to be doing each day. So I was genuinely glad to be back at work today. Even with a headache!

Busy as always, I nipped out at lunchtime to buy glue for my tiny bottles, paracetamols for my medium size headache & grapes to help with my giant body. (I need to eat something other than chocolate)

As the fog wasn't lifting & youngest son had neglected to text me to say he was on the bus & wasn't picking up when I rang, I decided to leave work while there was still daylight. On the bus I made a mental list of what I needed to do once home. The fog wasn't too bad with a bit of daylight still to guide me. Once home I threw jacket potatos in the oven and dashed out to buy diesel. How do we afford to run cars? Soon I am not sure we will be able to. I put £47 in my car Saturday morning driving down for my busy weekend & the same again tonight. I may need to decline some of my invites to catch up with friends back in Cambridge, as the bottom line is I just can't afford the travel. It's lovely here, but so far away from everywhere.

I've had contact from Daniel today by text. It is always nice to hear from him - especially without me starting the conversation. I've also had a what's app chat with Moll. I was worried as she cycles across Cambridge and today was her first ride in the dark since the clocks went back. Fog just added to the mix. She is sensible though & has good lights. I also had a chat to Jon, who had a very slow drive to Cambridge this morning because of an accident, fog & closed roads. He then went to Hatfield to see a woodland he has produced a management plan for. The owners are very pleased with his plan & he will be going back this month to carry out some work there, working with the owners.

So now I'm in my pjs making fimo snowmen. Last episode of Doc Martin in a minute. If I had the energy I'd write a fog poem, but I'm going to bed at 10.

May be tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.