REMEMBRANCE SUNDAY

The weather today has been foul.  Constant rain and wind the whole time.  So I made the wise decision to  stay indoors. 

I got all the ironing ready to do - but that's as far as I got. Maybe I will get on with it this evening - - if I can muster up some energy.

I made chicken casserole for my tea.  It was very tasty - just the right meal for this weather.

Neil was supposed to come here after work.  He phoned me for info about what bus he could get.  The direct bus from his work to here no longer exists.  I checked timetables but the Sunday service is so poor I couldn't come up with an easy way for him to get here.  So he is coming tomorrow instead.

So it had to be an indoor blip today.  I decided on a Remembrance day tribute.  The poem " In Flanders Fileds " was written by John McCrae - a Canadian - who was so moved by the death of a friend and  inspired by a field of wild poppies he wrote this verse.  Sadly John McCrae did not survive World War 1 - he died from pneumonia while on active duty in 1918.

An appropriate musical accompanyment to this blip is this beautiful version of THE LAST POST played by Mark Knopfler on guitar.

Steps today - 3,721

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.