A Windy Night

It's been a bit of a day one way or another. When I saw John Gravett's blip yesterday evening I realised there might be a problem with the campsite I'd booked for the three nights prior to the LPH workshop that I'm attending on Sunday. The Keswick Camping & Caravan Club site is right on the bank of Derwentwater. I had a look online and the Environment Agency site showed that there were flood warnings for the campsite. If I'd heard my phone when it had rung I'd have got the call telling me that the campsite was flooded. Ah well, there are other campsites or I could have a look for a cheap hotel. That was what I decided to do in the end. 

It was a bit of a hairy drive at times in places where the cross winds were strong. The rain was heavy most of the time but the traffic was and it seemed to be fully dark by about half past three. The biggest hold up was on the A66 from the motorway to Keswick.I was glad to arrive at the hotel at about 6.

I took a walk down to the lake and there was a lot of activity at the landing stages. The Princess Margaret Rose seems to be in a place that I'm sure motor launches didn't ought to be. You can see a shot of that as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.