Rainbow over Keswick

I decided I wasn't going to do any driving today so I walked into town and after a cup of coffee and waiting out the first period of rain I walked up to Castlehead. I stopped as I got to where you turn up to the top because it looked like there was a little bit of nice light on the hillsides above Bassenthwaite. I took a couple of shots and then the heavens opened with a hail storm. I wasn't expecting that!

I sheltered as best as I could and then this wonderful rainbow appeared. I'm not sure you get rainbows with hail but maybe it was rain across there. I made a quick turn on the polariser because I learnt recently that a polariser can be good for rainbows if you adjust it right. Adjust it wrong and it'll disappear.

It was blowing a bit of a gale up on Castlehead but I got a little bit of light up there. There are a couple more shots on Flickr More hailstorms happened befeore I got back to town and I'm pleased to tell you that Lady Margaret Rose, which I put in as an extra yesterday, is now back moored in a safe place.

Welcome back Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.