Black & White Challenge: Day 4 + Derelict Thursday

Today I was out seeking refuge, not for myself but for the SarumStroller's Derelict Thursday. This bothy near Buttermere has Gaston's Refugio carved in the door lintel. I'm not sure if anyone know's what that's about. Maybe some past temporary resident used their stonecarving skills to give it the name. JohnGravett blipped it some time ago and helpfully showed its situation in the map.

The forecast had shown that this morning would be dry with rain coming in early afternoon. They got that pretty well spot on. It came in on fairly heavy but I was back on the campsite having some lunch by then.

You could have surfed Buttermere today looking at the size of the waves. There are a few more shots on the overspill page including my favourite of the day. I chose the one above because I thought it would be the best one for day 4 of the Black and White challenge. It's also for Derelict Thursday although in all honesty, I can't be sure it's derelict. Other bothies I've seen have seemed in better condition and I wouldn't fancy sleeping in here.

It's blowing a hoolie out there tonight but I think I'll take a walk into town and get a pint and a bite to eat, so I'll catch you later.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.