Osprey. Maybe.

We spotted a variation of red-tailed hawk on our ocean walk--not the black morph we saw the other day, but a light breasted version, sitting at the top of a tree along the cliffs. The path is such that we were looking down on the bird, which was helpful to me since my neck is still askew. I was envious of his ability to turn his head completely around with ease; he was in constant motion, looking from side to side, up and down, till finally he dove down into the weeds but came back empty-beaked. I have put his photo in Extras because on the way back we found another bird, this one high up in one of the tallest trees around. I couldn't tell what I was looking at, mostly just zoomed my little camera out as far as it would go and kept clicking. It wasn't till I got home that I realized it was not the same character we'd been observing earlier, although their respective trees were extremely close to each other. To the best of my limited birding ability I think it's an Osprey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.