Dedication

Back into the office today, to a pile of post - which, unlike email, can't be dealt with remotely - and to empty my pockets of business cards and, oh look, the prompt cards from my presentation. I had nothing planned until 4pm, so that gave me an opportunity to get my desk in order and catch up with my colleagues.

The event at 4pm was the dedication of one of the buildings at school to our first business manager, John Howard. His career and my tenure as a governor overlapped for a few years and I liked him enormously; a friendly, gentle man, but with a sharp, excellent, dry wit. I was saddened when he passed away, earlier this year.

Three people spoke about John prior to the dedication: the previous chair of governors, his predecessor, and the head teacher. They all have different styles, although the head is my favourite, I think. He speaks with great warmth, intelligence, compassion and humour, in a relaxed and effortless style. I wish I could speak like that. The former chair also speaks well, in a homely and endearing manner. 

His predecessor, The Revd Canon Graham Bettridge, is a bit more of a white-knuckle ride. For as long as I have known him, which includes baptising at least one of my children, its appears that he has largely improvised his sermons and public speaking. Sometimes, it has to be said, I have found myself terrified that he is perilously close to flying off the rails but, in all the times I've been entertained by his speaking, he has always pulled it round.

I know that I can't speak as well as any of them. Not yet, anyway. I hope that this is one of those abilities that can, to some degree at least, be bettered by practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.