The Parker's Arms

I can still remember the very first time I drove to the Minx's house. As I navigated my way through Chorley I noticed a pub on the corner and thought it looked like somewhere I might like to visit. Over the last four years since then, I have suggested we visit the Parker's Arms on numerous occasions yet it is the only (serious) suggestion I can remember making where she did not stick to her policy of 'just say yes'. Quite robustly not, in fact.

This evening, though, we finally had a reason to go; Ruth Heritage was coming to Chorley to investigate the pubs (for reasons I never quite nailed down), and the Parker's was first on the list. I roped in Simon, too, and it was lucky that I did as Ruth was running late and on walking into the pub I was rather glad it was just the two of us. Most of the lights were turned off and there was just a group of six or seven men sat in the area in front of an open fire.

We made our way to the bar and we were told that there were two draught beers, one bitter and one lager. I have had the worst hangovers of my life - those really nauseous ones - on the back of draught beer so I peered over to see what was in the fridges. Three fridges: two cans of Diet Coke. There were also three bottles on the wall: whisky, brandy and, I think, vodka. Reluctantly I had the Fosters while Simon gamely opted for a whisky.

At this point I lost my bottle and sent the Minx a text suggesting she didn't come along but I was too late and she arrived, evidently amused and also opting for a whisky. I noticed they had three further bottles of spirits on the side - £2 for a double - so Simon pluckily had a further whisky, albeit of a slightly more obscure brand.

Well, suffice to say we didn't hang around but, after a detour to the chippy, we met Ruth at the station and then proceeded to Trader Jacks, Malt 'n' Hops (pictured), The Railway Inn, Potters Arms, The Ale Station, and the Shepherd's Ale House. 

I have to say that Chorley is unbelievably lively on a Sunday evening and I'd recommend it unreservedly for a night out. Admittedly, things were quieting down by the time we reached the Shepherd's Ale House, where I was delighted to find the conversation around the bar was concerned with relativity, which is mindbending enough when one's sober. At one point someone was describing an experiment that seemed to consist only of two clocks. What a splendid evening :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.