Deer Bait

In Michigan, starting in early October, almost every gas station and farm stand start selling big bags of corn, carrots, and sugar beets. Who is buying it...you might ask.

HUNTERS...THAT'S WHO! DEER HUNTERS...TO BE EXACT.  The theory goes...that you take the bait into the woods in buckets, wait for the deer to discover your bait pile...give yourself some good sight lines...and then...and then...YOU SHOOT THEM!!!

After seeing 4 deer in my neighbors back yard this summer, we picked up a bag of both corn and carrots. I put a nice pile under our pine tree, but my only visitors so far have been squirrels and blue jays...stealing the corn.

If the little varmits keep up the stealing...I'll have to think about taking a little target practice myself. HA!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.