Last of the Osage

It seems to me that as we journey through life...that everything is a contest. Who can lift the most weight, who can hold their breath the longest, and who can run the farthest.

As I drove down the osage orange tree road, I wondered if trees do the same thing. I bet there are 30-35 trees of the orange trees, and only 3 of them had fruit still hanging. One tree had a single piece, the second had three left, but this tree...this tree had perhaps 15-20 of the green beauties still on the branch.

"STAND BACK AND LOOK...BOYS AND GIRLS! OH YEAH! STAND BACK AND LOOK AT THIS YEAR'S WINNER! WHY DO I STILL HAVE FRUIT? BECAUSE I'M THE BIGGEST AND THE BADDEST AND...AND...AND...THE HARDIEST!

It could happen, it could be true.

The oranges aren't edible, but...according to legend...they are supposed to keep spiders away. I picked up 6 of them from the side of the road, and put them in the back of my truck. No arachnids in my basement this year. HA!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.