Station sunrise

I took today's blip from the railway bridge at the station in the village this morning, pretty impressive view I thought at the time.

At work did some very cool coding stuff and came up with a very nice way to solve a problem in a more elegant way than we do at the moment!

At home I replaced the motherboard on my better half's desktop computer. The new one is a lot smaller, a lot more modern and should give the system a new lease of life. The CPU core count has doubled, the clock speed has increased by about 50%, there is 4 times the RAM, the RAM is faster, there is a new GPU which is both faster and connected in a faster way.

Too my amazement it booted first time - it  was also so quiet I hadn't noticed it had actually booted! I had to re-jig the boot sequence a little and make a few small software changes, but it's now all working and is noticeably faster. I've just got to connect the front panel USB sockets back up and the almost never used front panel headphone and mic jacks.

Now it's late and time for bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.