Universal

Today's blip is a bit of an odd one... The computer I re-built for my better half was one of an identical pair. I had two incomplete tasks to complete this morning, one was to connect the front panel parts to the motherboard, and the second was to swap a CD-ROM with a DVD-ROM.

When I rebuilt the computer I didn't connect all the case cables to their header pins on the board, today I took a picture of the twin (un-rebuilt) to understand the way it was connected, as the markings on the connectors are different from either the new or old motherboard's manuals - so I needed a reference to convert. This blip is of the USB header and it's A and B port. As well as the USB header, blipped here, I also did the headphone and microphone to the front.

Once that was all done I swapped the CD with a DVD.  The original DVD on this system failed and I put in a spare CD. Now that the twin of this system is obsolete I'm swapping them over so all the best bits are now in my better half's system rather than the surplus one.

I now have a large pile of old parts from both this system and several others, so I've sent an email into my Linux User Group offering them up for free, and if that generates no interest, the will go on Freecycle and then to the recycling facility in town. I hate to throw working stuff away, but I just don't have use for it any more and it's just too slow to keep up with everything that it needs too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.