Time

This morning I work up to go to the loo and was a bit surprised to see that my bedside alarm clock was showing 8:03, which isn't good as that's after my train arrives in Basingstoke! When I returned from the loo I looked at the clock again to see that it was actually showing 8:03 PM. While it's a digital clock that updates continuously in real time, it has stuck once before, so I knew that it needed rebooting (turn it off and on - if you are familiar with a certain TV show...). I was then able to go back to get as I had a safe 3 hours before I needed to get up...

Work was work, my current project is coming to the end of the development phase, so lots of code and specification reviews and feedback has to be processes before we move code into the testing system. The feedback is useful and as I always say a bug caught in review is only embarrassing, one caught in testing isn't nice but one caught in production can be a catastrophe...

After work I went round to a friends to have a look at a computer that wouldn't use a newer graphics card he had. It was most peculiar, the card didn't prevent the system from booting but the new card didn't show up on the PCI bus and amount of coercing could make it do anything, and in the end we concluded it was dead but not so dead as to cause a hardware failure on boot. I came home with a DVD to watch for my troubles.

After diner we watched an episode off the DVD and then Gogglebox. Tonight's blip is of the badly behaved alarm clock - showing the right time when I blipped it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.