NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Thru the Barricades

Todays picture seemed predictable at first. It's Veterans Day and our Governments capital The Hague is one big military display honoring all soldiers.

One of the highlights is the fly by of all different helicopters, planes and jets our Air Force had and has. THE place to make the best picture are the buildings of Parliament as it's tradition the air fleet will fly straight over.

There were just a few snatches. The central city is completely blocked so you'll have to be inside the barricades on time and you know upfront you can't get out for at least three hours. So far so good, I got inside on time.

But the biggest challenge turned out to be the house of Parliament itself for it was completely blocked by police and security. Naturally, I should have known better... Our Queen would be there too, so it's obvious they would take every precaution.

Reluctantly I had to make the air show pictures outside Parliament, only 30 meters from my target spot separated by the castle wall & gate

Suddenly three minutes later, opportunity knocked... and I grabbed it. One of the guards left his post and a few people slipped inside the castle wall and I followed them.

Inside they went left and I went right behind the platform. Obviously they were stopped immediately and I knew I would be next, having a window of maximum one minute, but by that time I had already made my shot in exactly the same angle as my previous air parade shots for a perfect match.

This is the result I left home for and managed to shoot, but - admitted - in two shots for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.