NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Active versus Passive

Early in the morning the sunlight draws long shadows, a phenomenon that has intrigued me in many of my pictures over the years.

Thanks to the fact that there is a scaffold in front of the house for renovation purposes, it provides the possibility to climb to a higher standpoint and look at the world from another view point.

Knowing the sun casts a nice beam of light in between our two buildings early in the morning too, I felt that it would be an ideal opportunity to capture people at the busstop from an otherwise impossible angle.

Knowing I would only have 15 minutes before the sun would close this light beam, I made many pictures of people waiting such as this woman reading the morning paper whilst waiting for the bus.

Then I saw the morning jogger coming my way and only had to wait for the exact moment she would also pas the light beam.

Voila,... the contrast between active and passive portrait in shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.