Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Moth

Ha! What fun this was, one of my most enjoyable blip safaris and it is going to get better. I was up until 5am writing back blips, I just couldn't sleep, maybe excitement but more likely jet lag, seeing that it was still 10pm back in the UK. As a consequence, I did not wake again until after 2pm and so missed my planned blip session.

I popped around the back of the house and visited my old blipping ground, the grove. The plethora of insect life just made me grin, in fact I am still grinning! I found two ENORMOUS golden orb weaver spiders, they are not going anywhere, living on their webs, so I can plan to blip them later this month and will give a days notice. If you would like email notification of spider blips, then email me at folicallychalled@aol.co.uk and I will add you to my list.

The best find of the day was a moth, similar species to the wasp moth that I have blipped before, but with blue markings. A stunning creature but unfortunately I did not nail it, I am sure that I will get more opportunities and so I chose to let it go today.

Plenty of butterflies and dragons around, but I chose this tiny moth for today's blip, as I don't think it will be seen very often. Unfortunately I cut off the antenna tips, so I cropped in closer for some detail. As with all my insect blips, you really need to go large.

After collecting the images that I wanted, I then moved in closer to get some macro practice. It is so tempting to throw macro blips up, but I am sure that would become tiresome very quickly. Maybe on insects that I have already covered before and limited to 2 or 3 per month. Your views are welcome.

I have posted three back blips, documenting the trip, so have a look if you have time.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.