Wharfe Meadows

I probably give the impression here of being quite a bundle of energy, and I know I often succeed in packing a lot into the day, but this weekend I've had no energy to do stuff at all. It's hard for me to admit this, but I'm coming to understand that it shouldn't necessarily be taken as a sign of weakness. My tendency is to beat myself up when I fail to get any training in, but I'm trying not to do that tonight. I'm attempting to go with the flow and trust that the energy will be restored soon enough. It's best not to fight these things.

I had a small piece of work to do this weekend, but what I thought was going to be an hour's worth has turned into a whole day's worth. I have at least finally got it sorted (bar the cosmetics) and I'm now thinking it was just as well I didn't leave it until this evening, after the long bike ride I had originally planned.

As it turned out the weather was again showery and even cooler than yesterday. The sun only came out this evening and I just went out for a very short ride on the bike, more to convince myself that I was actually as weary in the body as I felt in spirit. I came back convinced enough!

I still feel frustrated at having squandered a precious weekend but perhaps I've needed this downtime. There is going to be precious little of it in the next few months. I'm certainly not as frustrated as my eldest son. This is now the third consecutive weekend he's failed to even get to the crease with the bat. And he was in such great form too. At least he picked up a wicket yesterday, with his very first ball, the classic off-spun delivery, left by the batsman as too wide to pose any danger and turning prodigiously to clip the stumps. He's had quite a few of those in his time. There is no greater sight for a spin bowler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.