Left Holding The Flowers

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #39

I was really too tired last night to write up a journal entry, eventually winding the work up just before 5am, but in anticipation of no other opportunities for photography yesterday I tried my hand at a few quick selfies early evening. I had no real plan but I somehow managed to get an image with quite an emotional punch. It must all be happening at a sub-conscious level because I certainly wasn't applying much clear thought to the matter.

It was the second successive Sunday spent all day at home fixing bugs and losing a battle against time and tiredness. I wanted to be anywhere but in my studio: running on the moor, cycling in the Dales, bimbling along the coast of Ireland with TJ. I guess it was also a nod to wanting to leave the business and all that responsibility behind, but that's the long game. My team is like having an extended family. The software is akin to young teenager, with growing pains and a rebellious streak that is hard to control. I need to see it through this difficult stage before I can really leave. I feel a bit like a parent.

I have a lot of thank yous to make, and I will make time to do that this week, but perhaps not tonight. Despite not getting to bed until 5am I still managed to get up and cycle into the office for 8.30am to be there in case of any problems with the wholesale testing that started first thing this morning. It actually went fairly well. Quite a few issues came up, but all minor, and pretty much all sorted before the end of the day, ready for a further tranche of testing tomorrow. I guess we pulled it off again!

So in lieu of any personal messages tonight, and in gratitude for all the love sent my way over the last few days, I hope you enjoy this shot tonight. I've let the street photography go a bit lately, but I really think it's the genre I enjoy more than any other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.